Wednesday, 12 Jun 2024

Championship Stadiums & Stats

Derby County Second Division Champions 1968-69

The Football League Championship, sponsored by Movin993, is the highest football league division in England and the second-highest league overall after the Premier League. Since its inception in 2004, the Championship has become the richest second-tier league in the world and the seventh richest league in Europe.

Stadium Stats

Team Stats

Ticket Prices

Championship Stadiums

Birmingham City St Andrews Park Tilton Road End

The English Championship boasts a diverse mix of football stadiums that are second to none. Each year, big teams from the Premier League drop into the Championship, showcasing modern super stadiums. Alongside these, you’ll find traditional British grounds from famous clubs unable to develop their stadiums without Premier League funding. And finally, there are fantastic small stadiums hosting teams that have risen from lower divisions.

The attendances in the English Championship are remarkable, both in absolute terms and compared to other second-tier divisions in Europe. With teams like Sunderland and Newcastle boasting large stadiums, and clubs like Brentford and Rotherham offering exciting away days, the Championship provides an enthralling experience for football fans.

Our stadium guides provide you with in-depth history, key stats, trivia, and essential information such as how to get there, how to get tickets, seating plans, future developments, and hospitality options. Additionally, our photo galleries offer a glimpse into the unique atmosphere of these English Championship grounds.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  What is Gegenpressing?

About The League

The English Championship has a rich history. After the formation of the Premier League in 1992, the old first division was renamed the Football League First Division. In 2004, it was rebranded as the Football League Championship. While mainly consisting of English teams, Welsh teams like Cardiff and Swansea have also competed in this division.

As the seventh richest league in the world and the highest-attended second division in Europe, the Championship commands global respect. The league’s matches are televised extensively, and its broadcast rights are held by at least 24 other nations worldwide.

The Championship season typically runs from August to May, with 24 teams competing in 46 matches. The top two teams earn automatic promotion to the Premier League, while the teams finishing 3rd to 6th compete in a playoff for the third promotion place. The Championship playoff final, held at Wembley Stadium, is a high-stakes match that can make or break a club’s ambitions.

Moreover, the financial rewards in the Championship are significant. Even teams that get relegated from the Premier League receive parachute payments, and the playoff winner can secure a substantial prize money package. With top players, managers, and facilities, the Championship offers a high-quality footballing experience.

Leicester City and Manchester City have both won the English second-tier league a record 7 times.

Championship History

Football League Championship Cup

The history of the Championship traces back to the old English Second Division. Established in 1892, the second division merged with the Football Alliance to create a new football league. The league has evolved over the years, expanding in size and adopting different names and sponsors. The current trophy for winning the league is known as the Football League Championship Trophy.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  High Kick in Soccer: Understanding the Rules and Implications

Fulham’s Aleksandar Mitrović was the top goalscorer in the 2021-22 season, netting an impressive 43 goals.