Saturday, 20 Jul 2024

How FIFA World Cup Qualifiers Work

FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Every four years, the FIFA World Cup captures the attention of the entire world. Fans cheer for their home country if they qualify, and if not, they choose a team to support until the end. But how exactly do teams qualify for the World Cup? Let’s dive into the process.

Group Stage and Play-Off Stage

The FIFA World Cup qualifiers for UEFA (Europe) work as follows:

  • Group Stage: There are 10 groups consisting of 5 or 6 teams each. The winners of each group qualify for the FIFA World Cup.
  • Play-Off Stage: The 10 second-place teams from the group stage and the 2 best Nations League group winners (12 teams in total) are divided into 3 brackets. To qualify, a team needs to win 2 play-off matches, including the semi-final and final.

It’s worth noting that hosts of the World Cup are automatically qualified and do not need to go through the qualifying process.

How Hosts are Determined

Before the qualifying process begins, the host for the World Cup is selected. This decision is made years in advance, allowing the host city ample time to prepare for the event. For example, the host for the 2022 World Cup was chosen in 2009.

The selection of a host involves a series of bidding rounds. Countries interested in hosting submit their bids, and the bidding process eliminates candidates until a host is determined. Controversies surrounding bribery and corruption have plagued the selection process, with notable controversies surrounding the 2022 World Cup.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Keepmoat Stadium: Doncaster Rovers

Qatar, despite not having a rich soccer history like previous hosts, won the bid to host the 2022 World Cup. It was later revealed that bribery played a role in the selection.

Qualifications for the FIFA World Cup

The qualification process determines which 31 countries will join the host in the FIFA World Cup. There are six confederations and 206 countries competing for these coveted spots. Each confederation has a set number of slots allocated to it. Here is the breakdown since 2006:

  • Host: 1 slot
  • UEFA: 13 slots
  • OFC: 0-1 slots
  • CONMEBOL: 4-5 slots
  • CONCACAF: 3-4 slots
  • CAF: 5 slots
  • AFC: 4-5 slots

Each confederation has its own qualification cup, where teams compete for a spot in the World Cup. The teams’ performances in these cups determine the final allotment of slots. In addition, there is an inter-confederation playoff to determine the final two spots.

Breaking Into World Cup Groups

Once the teams have qualified, the next step is to form the groups for the World Cup. In the 2022 World Cup, 32 teams participated, but starting in 2026, the tournament will expand to include 48 teams. When forming the groups, FIFA ensures fairness by using seeding and other rules. The top teams from the previous years’ international competitions receive seeds, and the remaining teams are placed in different pots to spread the talent across the groups. Rules are in place to limit the number of European teams in each group and ensure a balanced distribution.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  The Regista Role: Unveiling the Deep-Lying Playmaker

While some groups may appear tougher than others, the grouping process aims to create balanced competition. Groups that are considered particularly challenging are often referred to as “The Group of Death.”

The FIFA World Cup Format

The FIFA World Cup consists of a group stage followed by a knockout stage. The 32 teams are divided into eight groups, and each team plays the other three teams in its group. Points are awarded for wins, losses, and draws. The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage.

In the knockout stage, the winner of one group plays the runner-up of another group. This format ensures that group winners do not face each other until the final. Goal difference and number of goals scored serve as tiebreakers if the point totals are equal.

Expanding the World Cup

FIFA has expanded the World Cup tournament in the past, and they plan to do so again for the 2026 edition. However, there is a limit to how many teams can participate to maintain a reasonable length for the tournament. Despite the potential challenges, expanding the World Cup allows more countries to participate, generating more interest worldwide.

Is FIFA Qualifying a Significant Event?

While only a select few countries can confidently assume their place in the World Cup, qualifying is still a big deal. Even in regions like Europe, where automatic bids are abundant, the competition is fierce. Missing out on qualification can be embarrassing and disappointing for a country.

The FIFA qualifying tournaments attract considerable attention, as fans show their support for their national teams. While the level of international appeal is not on the same scale as the World Cup itself, these tournaments are well-attended and highly rated.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  What Does Clean Sheet Mean In Soccer?


Q: Will FIFA ever expand the World Cup further?
A: FIFA has expanded the World Cup in the past, and they plan to do so in 2026. However, there may be a maximum limit to maintain the tournament’s length.

Q: How are the host countries determined for the World Cup?
A: Host countries are selected through a bidding process that takes place years in advance. The bidding process involves multiple rounds, and controversies surrounding bribery have been a part of it in the past.

Q: How does the FIFA World Cup format work?
A: The World Cup consists of a group stage followed by a knockout stage. The teams are divided into groups, and the top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage.


Qualifying for the FIFA World Cup is an arduous journey for national teams, as they compete against each other to secure one of the limited spots. The World Cup itself is a celebration of the best talent in international soccer, bringing together teams from around the globe to compete for the ultimate prize. As the tournament continues to evolve and expand, the road to qualification becomes increasingly important for nations aiming to make their mark on the world stage.

Learn more about FIFA World Cup history and winners on the Movin993 website.